18 Sectoral Groups on GST Constituted

IAS Prelims 2023

18 Sectoral Groups have been constituted representing various sectors of the economy in order to ensure smooth roll-out of GST. These 18 Sectoral Groups representing various sectors of the economy and containing Senior Officers of the Centre and the States are being set-up to ensure smooth implementation of GST by timely responding to the issues and problems of their respective Sector(s).

In fact, they are being with the following objectives:

i) Interact and examine representations received from trade and industry associations/bodies of their respective sector.

ii) Highlight specific issues for the smooth transition of the respective sector to the GST regime.

iii) Prepare sector specific draft guidance.

These Sectoral Working Groups consist of Senior Officers from the Centre and the States.

18 Sectoral Groups along with the names of Co-convenor(s) are as follows:

S.No. Sector Central Government State Government


Name & Designation Name & Designation
1 Banking, Financial & Insurance Upender Gupta, Commissioner, GST Policy Wingh, CBEC Dhananjay Akhade, Jt. Commissioner, Maharashtra
2 Telecom Amitabh Kumar, Jt. Secretary (TRU-II), CBEC Sh. Mukesh Kumar Meshram, CCT, Uttar Pradesh
3 Exports (incl EOUs and SEZs) Dr. Tejpal Singh, ADG, DGEP, CBEC Amitabh Jain, Principal Secretary, Chhattisgarh
4. IT & ITes M. Vinod Kumar, Chief Commissioner, CBEC Ms. Smaraki Mahapatra, CCT, West Bengal
5 Transport & Logistics J.M. Kennedy, ADG, DRI, CBEC Ms. Sujatha Chaturvedi, Pr. Secretary, Bihar
6 Textiles Yogendra Garg, Commissioner, CBEC Ms. Mona Khandhar, Secretary (EA), Gujarat
7 MSMEs (incl. job work) Manish Sinha, Commissioner, CBEC & GST Council H. Rajesh Prasad, Commissioner, VAT, Delhi
8 Oil & Gas (upstream & downstream) P.K. Jain, Chief Commissioner, (AR), CBEC Anurag Goel, CCT, Assam
9 Gems & Jewellery Reyaz Ahmad, Director (TRU) Dr. P.D. Vaghela, CCT, Gujarat
10 Services received and provided by Government D.P. Nagendra Kumar, Pr. Commissioner, CBEC Arun Mishra, Additional Secretary (CT) Bihar
11 Food Processing Ajay Jain, Chief Commissioner, CBEC Khalid Anwar, Sr. Jt. CCT, West Bengal
12 E-commerce R. Sriram, Commissioner, CBEC Ritvik Pandey, CCT, Karnataka
13 Big Infra (Airport & Sea ports including Maintenance, Repair & Overhaul, Power Sector, Housing and Construction) Sandeep Prakash, Commissioner, CBEC J. Syamala Rao, CCT, Andhra Pradesh
14 Travel & Tourism Smt. Sungita Sharma, Pr. Commissioner, CBEC Raghwendra Kumar Singh, CCT, Madhya Pradesh (Indore)
15 Handicrafts Pradeep Goel, Commissioner, CBEC Ms. Sangeetha P. CCT, Chhattisgarh
16 Media & Entertainment M. Srinivas, Commissioner, CBEC Omnarayan Chainsukhji Bhangdiya, Addl. Commissioner, Sales Tax, Maharashtra, Pune
17 Drugs & Pharmaceuticals A.R.S. Kumar, Commissioner, CBEC Dr. M.P. Ravi Prasad, Joint CCT, Karnataka
18 Mining S.N. Singh, Chief, Commissioner, CBEC Praveen Gupta, Secretary (Finance), Rajasthan

The officials of these Sectoral Groups will deal with the issues and the problems of the respective sector(s) they represent.

Concerned industry Groups/Associations or even individual industry representative(s) may approach the respective Sectoral Group officers with their problems, if any, relating to GST implementation who, in turn, will try to guide and help them in resolving the same.

This exercise will help in dealing with most of the sectoral problems and issues at the local/regional level.