2508 Cities Selected Under PM Awas Yojana

As on April 25 2016, a total of 2,508 cities of 26 States have been identified as selected for Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana—Housing for all (Urban) Mission, for providing affordable houses to the urban poor.

As per the scheme guidelines, the houses under the PMAY (U) mission should be designed and constructed to meet the requirement of structural safety against earthquakes, flood, cyclone, landslide etc. conforming to the National Building Code and other relevant Bureau of Indian Standards Codes.

The mission also includes a technology sub-mission to facilitate state technologies for adoption of layout designs and building plans suitable for various geo-climatic zones and to deploy disaster resistant and environment friendly technologies.

The scheme comes with an aim of constructing more than two crore houses across the nation within a span of seven years.

The scheme, which was started in 2015, would conclude in 2022.

The target beneficiaries of the scheme would be poor and people living under EWS and LIG categories in urban establishments of the country.

It is the primary responsibility of the state governments to provide shelter for the urban homeless people. In order to complement and supplement the efforts of the state and UTs, the Ministry of Housing and Urban Poverty Alleviation is implementing a scheme namely ‘Shelter for Urban Homeless’ as a component of Deendayal Antyodaya Yojana — National Urban Livelihoods Mission for providing permanent shelters with basic facilities to urban homeless.

As per the information received from the states and UTs, a total of 770 shelters have been sanctioned by states and UTs with a capacity of about 38,770 inmates. Out of this, 270 shelters with a total capacity of about 11,900 inmates are operational.