WHO Award for Global Tobacco Control

IAS Prelims 2023

World Health Organization has conferred Director General’s Special Recognition Award to India’s Minister of Health and Family Welfare, Mr J P Nadda, for his leadership and commitment to advancing tobacco control.

WHO has also selected other five individuals/ institutions from the WHO South-East Asia Region for this year’s World No-Tobacco Day Award.

India’s recent initiatives include making graphic health warnings covering 85% of all tobacco products mandatory beginning April 2016; establishing National Tobacco Testing Laboratories last year; launching cessation services in 2015, and, as part of this, a National Tobacco Quit line a year ago.


1. The Ministry of Finance and Economic Affairs of the Republic of the Gambia is the other awardee.

2. From the WHO South-East Asia Region, Minister of Health for Maldives, Mr Abdullah Nazim Ibrahim, has been conferred the World No-Tobacco Day Award for increasing taxes and import duties on cigarettes, promoting tobacco cessation services and launching the anti-tobacco “I Choose Life” campaign last year.

3. Minister of Health for Bhutan, Mr Tandin Wangchuk, has been selected for the award for implementing measures, as Chairperson of Bhutan’s Narcotic Control Authority, to ban production and sale of tobacco in the country.

4. A Member of Parliament from Bangladesh, Mr Saber Hossain Chowdhury, has been selected for the World No-Tobacco Award for initiating inclusion of tobacco control in the country’s seventh five year plan in 2015, for sustainable resources for the programme. Strongly advocating for increasing tax on tobacco, Mr Chowdhury has been advocating for tobacco control for sustainable development.

5. The Chief Executive Officer of Thai Health Promotion Foundation, Dr Supreda Adulyanon, and Sri Lanka’s National Authority on Tobacco and Alcohol control are among the others selected for the award from the Region this year.