Biennial election to the Bihar Legislative Council from 04 Graduates’ and 04 Teachers’ Constituencies

The term of office of 08 members of the Bihar Legislative Council from Graduates’ and Teachers’ Constituencies has fallen vacant on 06th May, 2020,due to the retirement of the sitting members. A statement showing the details of these seats is given below:-


Sl. No.

Name of  Constituency

Name of the Member

Date of retirement


Patna Graduates’

Neeraj Kumar







Darbhanga Graduates’

Dilip Kumar Choudhary


Tirhut Graduates’

Devesh Chandra Thakur


Kosi Graduates’

Dr. N.K. Yadav


Patna Teachers’

Naval Kishore Yadav


Darbhanga Teachers’

Dr. Madan Mohan Jha


Tirhut Teachers’

Sanjay Kumar Singh


Saran Teachers’



2.      Considering the unforeseen situation of public health emergency due to COVID-19 and the guidelines & orders passed under the Disaster Management Act, 2005 by the competent authority, the Election Commission, on 03.04.2020 passed an Order under Article 324 of Constitution of India read with section 16 of the Representation of the People Act, 1951, and directed that the process of election to the abovementioned seats be initiated at a later date after reviewing the prevailing situation.

3.         The Commission, having considered the inputs received from CEO, Bihar as now decided that above mentioned biennial election to the Bihar State Legislative Council from Graduates’ and Teachers’ Constituencies, be held in accordance with the following programme:-



Issue of Notification

28th   September, 2020 (Monday)


Last date of making nominations

05th October, 2020 (Monday)


Scrutiny of nominations

06th October, 2020 (Tuesday)


Last date for withdrawal of candidature

08th October, 2020 (Thursday)


Date of Poll

22nd October, 2020 (Thursday)


Hours of Poll

08:00 am to 05:00 pm


Counting of votes

12th November, 2020 ( Thursday )


Date before which election shall be completed

14th November, 2020 (Saturday)


4.         The Model Code of Conduct concerning these elections will come into force with immediate effect in the concerned Constituencies. Please see the details in Commission’s website under the link:

5.         Broad Guidelines to be followed during entire election processes for all persons:-

I.          Every person shall wear face mask during every election related activity

II.        At the entry of hall/ room/ premises used for election purposes:

(a) Thermal Scanning of all persons shall be carried out:

(b) Sanitizer shall be made available at all locations

III.       Social distancing shall be maintained as per the extant COVID-19 guidelines of the State Govt. and Ministry of Home Affairs.

IV.       As far as practicable, large halls should be identified and utilized to ensure social distancing norms.

V.        Adequate number of vehicles shall be mobilized for movement of polling personnel, security personnel to ensure compliance of COVID-19 guidelines.

6.         For broad guidelines to be followed strictly during the conduct of election during Covid-19, please refer to the guideline available on Commission’s website under link:-



    Source PIB