Biennial Election to the Council of States from Kerala to fill the seats of members retiring on 21.04.2021

The term of office of 03 members of the Rajya Sabha elected from Kerala is due to expire on their retirement in April, 2021 as detailed below:-       

S. No

Name of Member

Date of Retirement



Abdul Wahab






K. K. Ragesh


Vayalar Ravi


Sl. No.


Dates & Days


Issue of Notifications

24th March, 2021 (Wednesday)


Last date of making nominations

31st March, 2021 (Wednesday)


Scrutiny of nominations

03rd April, 2021 (Saturday)


Last date for withdrawal of candidatures

05th April, 2021 (Monday)


Date of Poll

12th April, 2021 (Monday)


Hours of Poll

09:00 am-04:00 pm


Counting of Votes

12th April, 2021 (Monday) at 05:00 pm


Date before which election shall be completed

16th April, 2021 (Friday)

2.         The Commission has decided to hold biennial election to the Council of States from Kerala to fill up the above said vacancies in accordance with the following Schedule: –


3.         Broad Guidelines to be followed during entire election process for all persons: –

I.          Every person shall wear face mask during every election related activity

II.         At the entry of hall/ room/ premises used for election purposes:

(a) Thermal Scanning of all persons shall be carried out:

(b) Sanitizer shall be made available at all locations

III.        Social distancing shall be maintained as per the extant COVID-19 guidelines of the State Govt. and Ministry of Home Affairs.

  1. The Chief Secretary, Kerala is being directed to depute a senior officer from the State to ensure that the extant instructions regarding COVID-19 containment measures are complied with while making arrangements for conducting the said biennial election.
  2. Further, the Commission has also appointed the Chief Electoral Officer, Kerala as Observer for the election.



    Source PIB