British Academy Film Awards: Full List of Winners

IAS Prelims 2023

The British Academy Film Awards are presented in an annual award show hosted by the British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA) to honour the best British and international contributions to film.

Between 2008 and 2016, the ceremony was held in central London at the Royal Opera House, having taken over from the flagship Odeon cinema in Leicester Square.

The 70th British Academy Film Awards were held on 12 February 2017 at the Royal Albert Hall in London.

List of Winners 2017:

Leading Actress: Emma Stone, La La Land
Best Film: La La Land, Fred Berger, Jordan Horowitz, Marc Platt
Director: Damien Chazelle, La La Land
Leading Actor: Casey Affleck, Manchester by the Sea
Cinematography: La La Land, Linus Sandgren
Original Screenplay: Manchester by the Sea, Kenneth Lonergan
Supporting Actor: Dev Patel, Lion
Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Producer or Director: Under the Shadow, Babak Anvari (writer/director), Emily Leo, Oliver Roskill, Lucan Toh (producers)
Special Visual Effects: The Jungle Book, Robert Legato, Dan Lemmon, Andrew R. Jones, Adam Valdez
Animated Film: Kubo and the Two Strings, Travis Knight
Supporting Actress: Viola Davis, Fences
Adapted Screenplay: Lion, Luke Davies
Film Not in The English Language: Son of Saul, Laszlo Nemes, Gabor Sipos
Documentary: 13th, Ava DuVernay
Production Design: Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, Stuart Craig, Anna Pinnock
Editing: Hacksaw Ridge, John Gilbert
British Short Film: Home, Shpat Deda, Afolabi Kuti, Daniel Mulloy, Scott O’Donnell
British Short Animation: A Love Story, Khaled Gad, Anushka Kishani Naanayakkara, Elena Ruscombe-King