Canadian PM Appoints 31Member Cabinet

IAS Prelims 2023

Newly Elected Canada Prime Minister Justin Trudeau named a 31-member Cabinet as he was sworn into office as Canada’s 23rd prime minister.

Bill Morneau has been appointed as finance minister, while former Liberal leader Stephane Dion has become foreign affairs minister and Ralph Goodale has become public safety minister.

Canada on World Map
Canada on World Map

Following is the list of Cabinet Members of Canada:

1. Ralph Goodale – Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness
2. Lawrence MacAulay – Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food
3. Stéphane Dion – Minister of Foreign Affairs
4. John McCallum – Minister of Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship
5. Carolyn Bennett – Minister of Indigenous and Northern Affairs
6. Scott Brison – President of the Treasury Board
7. Dominic LeBlanc – Leader of the Government in the House of Commons
8. Navdeep Bains – Minister of Innovation, Science and Economic Development
9. Bill Morneau – Minister of Finance
10. Jody Wilson-Raybould – Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada
11. Judy Foote – Minister of Public Services and Procurement
12. Chrystia Freeland- Minister of International Trade
13. Jane Philpott – Minister of Health
14. Jean-Yves Duclos – Minister of Families, Children and Social Development
15. Marc Garneau – Minister of Transport
16. Marie-Claude Bibeau- Minister of International Development and La Francophonie
17. Jim Carr- Minister of Natural Resources
18. Mélanie Joly – Minister of Canadian Heritage
19. Diane Lebouthillier – Minister of National Revenue
20. Kent Hehr – Minister of Veterans Affairs and Associate Minister of National Defence
21. Catherine McKenna – Minister of Environment and Climate Change
22. Harjit Singh Sajjan – Minister of National Defence
23. MaryAnn Mihychuk – Minister of Employment, Workforce Development and Labour
24. Amarjeet Sohi – Minister of Infrastructure and Communities
25. Maryam Monsef – Minister of Democratic Institutions
26. Carla Qualtrough – Minister of Sports and Persons with Disabilities
27. Hunter Tootoo – Minister of Fisheries, Oceans and the Canadian Coast Guard
28. Kirsty Duncan – Minister of Science
29. Patty Hajdu – Minister of Status of Women
30. Bardish Chagger – Minister of Small Business and Tourism