Chairman of Lok Sabha Ethics Committee

IAS Prelims 2023

L K Advani has been renominated as Chairman of the Lok Sabha’s Ethics Committee by Speaker Sumitra Mahajan.

The Ethics Committee examines every complaint relating to unethical conduct of a member referred to it.

It is also free to take up suo motu investigation into matters relating to ethics, including matters relating to unethical conduct by a member wherever felt necessary and make such recommendations as it may deem fit.

A Arunmozhithevan, Ninong Ering, Sher Singh Ghubaya, Hemant Tukaram Godse, Pralhad Joshi, Bhagatsingh Koshyari, Bhartruhari Mahtab, Kariya Munda, Jayshreeben Patel, Malla Reddy, Sumedhanand Saraswati and Bhola Singh, are the other renominated members of the panel.

The two new faces in the committee are — Rakesh Singh and Akshay Yadav.

Other Committees:

The other members who have been nominated as Chairman on the various other committees are — P Karunakaran for the Committee on Absence of Members from the Sittings of the House, Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank for the Committee on Government Assurances, Chandrakant B Khaire for the Committee on Papers Laid on the Table and Dilipkumar Mansukhlal Gandhi for the Committee on Subordinate Legislation.

While, Ram Shankar has been nominated as member of the Committee on Privileges and Pashupati Nath Singh as member of the Committee on Private Members’ Bills and Resolutions.

Shwait Malik has been nominated as member of Joint Committee on Food Management in Parliament House Complex by the Rajya Sabha Chairman.