Collaboration for Developing Atomic Energy

IAS Prelims 2023

India is recognized globally as a nation with advanced nuclear technologies. India has developed comprehensive capabilities in all stages of nuclear fuel cycle namely; mining, uranium production, fuel fabrication, nuclear power production, spent fuel reprocessing and waste management.

So far Inter Governmental Agreement (IGA) for co-operation in peaceful uses of nuclear energy have been signed with the following eighteen(18) countries: Argentina, Australia, Bangladesh, Canada, Czech Republic, European Union, France, Japan, Kazakhstan, Mongolia, Namibia, Republic of Korea, Russia, Sri Lanka, United Kingdom, United States of America, Vietnam and Ghana.   Currently India has active participation with US, France, Russia, Uzbekistan, Kazakhstan and Canada in the area of Nuclear Energy.

Currently there is no collaboration with Israel on nuclear energy.  The Government has accorded ‘in-principle’ approval of sites at Kovvada in Andhra Pradesh and ChhayaMithiVirdi in Gujarat for setting up nuclear power plants in cooperation with the United States of America.

This information was given by Minister of State for Personnel, Public Grievances & Pensions and Prime Minister’s Office, Dr. Jitendra Singh in a written reply in Rajya Sabha today.



    Source PIB