Committee to Identify BPL People

The task force headed by NITI Aayog Vice-Chairman Arvind Panagariya to prepare a road map for elimination of poverty has submitted its report to the Prime Minister’s Office (PMO) and suggested setting up a committee to identify people below poverty line (BPL).

The task force, which included Aayog Member Bibek Debroy and secretaries from ministries of rural development, housing and urban poverty alleviation, has also suggested participation from states in defining the BPL population.

Its main task was to prepare a road map for elimination of poverty as well as suggest strategies and anti-poverty programmes.

Official measures are based on the Tendulkar poverty line. But the line is not without its share of controversies, with many terming it as being too low. This has prompted the previous government to appoint the Rangarajan Committee, which has recommended higher rural and urban poverty lines.