Crutchlow Wins Australian MotoGP

Cal Crutchlow beat world champion Marc Marquez at Australia’s Phillip Island to win only his second MotoGP.

Cal Crutchlow has become the first British rider to win the Australian Grand Prix as he secured his second MotoGP victory at Phillip Island.

Honda’s Crutchlow, 30, is the first Briton since Barry Sheene in 1979 to win more than once race in a season.

Crutchlow turns 31 next week and was competing in his 103rd MotoGP, capitalised when Marquez made a mistake and crashed out on lap 10 while holding a big lead.

Pol Espargaro was fifth and Lorenzo sixth in Sunday’s race, with two races left in the championship in Malaysia and Spain.

Rossi, who started the race in 15th, finished second with Spain’s Maverick Vinales taking third place.

Australian GP result:

1. Cal Crutchlow (GB) Honda 40 minutes 48.543 seconds

2. Valentino Rossi (Ita) Yamaha 40:52.761

3. Maverick Vinales (Spa) Suzuki 40:53.852

4. Andrea Dovizioso (Ita) Ducati 40:57.700

5. Pol Espargaro (Spa) Yamaha 41:02.842

6. Jorge Lorenzo (Spa) Yamaha 41:08.668

7. Scott Redding (GB) Ducati 41:16.912

8. Bradley Smith (GB) Yamaha 41:17.324

9. Danilo Petrucci (Ita) Ducati 41:17.335

10. Jack Miller (Aus) Honda 41:17.358