Dan David Prize Winner Announced

Indian scientist Shrinivas Kulkarni has won the Dan David Prize for his work in the field of astronomy.

The professor of astrophysics and planetary science at California Institute of Technology in Pasadena built the Palomar Transient Factory, with which he conducted a large-area survey of the night sky to find variable and transient phenomena.

He will get $ 1 million as prize money by the Dan David Foundation headquartered at Tel Aviv University.

Every year the prize is given in three categories – “Past”, “Present” and “Future” – to people for their contribution to humanity in the sciences, humanities, or through their work in civil society.

Kulkarni got the award in “Future” category which is dedicated to astronomy this year.

The other awardees in the category are Andrej Udalski of the University of Warsaw and Neil Gehrels of National Aeronautics and Space Administration.

The annual prize was started by businessman and philanthropist Dan David 16 years ago.