Earth Science Olympiad Winners

IAS Prelims 2023

Three Indian high school students who won four silver medals in the 10th International Earth Science Olympiad, MIE Japan, met Minister for Earth Sciences, Dr. Harsh Vardhan.

This year the 10th International Earth Science Olympiad (10th IESO) was held from 21th to 27th August 2016 at Mie, Japan.

The theme logo of IESO-2016, Japan was “Our Future: Earth and Space”.

This year 26 countries with four students from each country participated in this event (a total of 201 students) barring Malawi (one student only).

The Indian team was represented by four students: Aditya pal, (Kolkata), Amarjeet Pandde (Mumbai), Guhan Narayanan (Bangalore) and Divyansh Joshi (Udaipur).

Aditya Pal, Kolkata, Amarjeet Pandde (Mumbai) and Guhan Narayanan (Bangalore) were awarded silver medals.

Guhan Narayanan won another silver medal for India in the team event.

About IESO:

International Earth Science Olympiad (IESO) is an annual earth science competition for secondary school students and is conducted each year in a different country. It is an outreach programme and one of the main activities of the International Geoscience Educational Organization (IGEO), affiliated to the International Union of Geological Sciences (IUGS).

The IESO’s mission is also to raise awareness and interest in Earth Sciences amongst school children as well as general public to improve Earth Science learning of students and to single out talented and gifted students in Earth Science.

In India:

The Geological Society of India, Bangalore conducts every year the Indian National Earth Science Olympiad with the support of the Ministry of Earth Sciences, GOI.