Goa Assembly Gets New Speaker

IAS Prelims 2023

The BJP MLA from Sankhalim in North Goa, Pramod Sawant, was elected Speaker of the seventh Goa Assembly.

Mr. Sawant (44) was nominated by Glenn Ticlo (BJP). He defeated the Congress nominee for the Speaker’s post Aleixo Reginaldo, by a margin of 20-15 in the election conducted on the first day of the Budget session.