Great Britain Wins Sultan Azlan Shah Cup

IAS Prelims 2023

The Sultan Azlan Shah Cup is an annual international men’s field hockey tournament held in Malaysia. It began in 1983 as a biennial contest. The tournament became an annual event after 1998, following its growth and popularity.

Great Britain beat reigning champions Australia 4-3 in Malaysia to win the 2017 Sultan Azlan Shah Cup – the first British winners since England in 1984.

India beat New Zealand 4-0 to clinch a bronze medal in this 26th Sultan Azlan Shah Cup.

Malaysia defeated Japan 3-1 in the playoff to decide the fifth place in the tournament standings.

Six countries participated in 2017 tournament:

Malaysia (Host)
Great Britain
New Zealand

Top three teams

Champions -Great Britain (2nd title)
Runner-up -Australia
Third place -India

Tournament statistics

Matches played 18
Goals scored 73 (4.06 per match)

Top scorer(s)

Australia -Tom Craig
Australia -Trent Mitton
India -Mandeep Singh (5 goals)

Best player Australia -Tom Craig

Best goalkeeper Japan -Suguru Shimmoto