India to Host Junior Hockey World Cup

The city of Lucknow in Uttar Pradesh will host the junior men’s hockey World Cup from December 8 to 18, the International Hockey Federation (FIH) announced.

sports current affairsThe event will feature 16 teams — defending champions Germany, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Egypt, England, Germany, India, Japan, Korea, Netherlands, South Africa, New Zealand, Pakistan and Spain.

While the men’s competition takes place in December, the women’s Hockey Junior World Cup takes place shortly beforehand in Santiago, Chile between 24 November and 4 December.

India will not be part of that event.

The Hockey Junior World Cup, is an international field hockey competition organised by the International Hockey Federation (FIH).

The tournament was started in 1979. Since 1985 it has been held every four years. Competitors must be under the age of 21 as of December 31 in the year before the tournament is held.

Past Hosts:

2013: New Delhi, India
2009: Johor Bahru, Malaysia & Singapore
2005: Rotterdam, Netherlands
2001: Hobart, Australia