India Ratifies Transports Internationaux Routiers Convention

IAS Prelims 2023

India became the 71st country in the world to become a member of United Nation Transports Internationaux Routiers (TIR) Convention.

TIR is the global standard for the transit of goods. It is managed and developed by the International Road Transport Union (IRU).

The TIR norms will enable businesses and traders in India and other member countries to move their goods under customs control across each others’ international borders without having to wait for time- consuming customs clearance processes.

The TIR Convention ensures that goods at the international borders are exempted from time consuming rigorous inspection by customs officials at the borders. A valid TIR seal on goods would enable that there are no stopping at the borders during transit. There will be no longer paying of duties and taxes at the borders.

Under the TIR convention only approved transporters and vehicles are allowed to operate. This is expected to help Indian traders use a fast, easy and reliable international system to move their goods across the border.

The convention would further enable India to integrate its trade with Myanmar, Thailand, Bangladesh, Bhutan and Nepal, and move goods along the International North-South Transport Corridor through the Chabahar port in Iran, and access into Afghanistan.


The Convention on International Transport of Goods Under Cover of TIR Carnets (TIR Convention) is a multilateral treaty that was concluded at Geneva on 14 November 1975 to simplify and harmonise the administrative formalities of international road transport. (TIR stands for “Transports Internationaux Routiers” or “International Road Transports”.)

The 1975 convention replaced the TIR Convention of 1959, which itself replaced the 1949 TIR Agreement between a number of European countries. The conventions were adopted under the auspices of the United Nations Economic Commission for Europe (UNECE).

The TIR Convention establishes an international customs transit system with maximum facility to move goods:

• in sealed vehicles or containers;
• from a customs office of departure in one country to a customs office of destination in another country;
• without requiring extensive and time-consuming border checks at intermediate borders;
• while, at the same time, providing customs authorities with the required security and guarantees.

There are 71 parties to the Convention and the European Union.

1. Afghanistan
2. Albania
3. Algeria
4. Armenia
5. Austria
6. Azerbaijan
7. Belarus
8. Belgium
9. Bosnia and Herzgovina
10. Bulgaria
11. Canada
12. Chile
13. China
14. Croatia
15. Cyprus
16. Czech Republic
17. Denmark
18. Estonia
19. Finland
20. France
21. Georgia
22. Germany
23. Greece
24. Hungary
25. Indonesia
26. Iran
27. India
28. Ireland
29. Israel
30. Italy
31. Jordan
32. Kazakstan
33. Kuwait
34. Kyrgyzstan
35. Latvia
36. Lebanon
37. Liberia
38. Lithuania
39. Luxembourg
40. Malta
41. Moldova
42. Mongolia
43. Montenegro
44. Morocco
45. Netherlands
46. Norway
47. Pakistan
48. Poland
49. Portugal
50. Republic of Korea
51. Romania
52. Russian Federation
53. Serbia
54. Slovakia
55. Slovenia
56. Spain
57. Sweden
58. Switzerland
59. Syrian Arab Republic
60. Tajikistan
61. The Former Yugoslav
62. Republic of Macedonia
63. Tunisia
64. Turkey
65. Turkmenistan
66. Ukraine
67. United Arab Emirates
68. United Kingdom
69. United States of America
70. Uruguay
71. Uzbekistan