Indian Doctor Selected to Ophthalmology Hall of Fame

Gullapalli N. Rao, a noted Indian eye doctor, has been selected to the 2017 Ophthalmology Hall of Fame instituted by the American Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgery.

The founder and chair of the LV Prasad Eye Institute, Hyderabad, Rao will be honoured at the induction ceremony in Los Angeles on May 6 at the annual meeting of the ASCRS.

He is currently the President of the prestigious Academia Ophthalmologica Internationalis (AOI), a group of 80 eminent academicians in ophthalmology in the world, and is a past Chair of the International Agency for the Prevention of Blindness (IAPB).