Laureus World Sports Awards Announced

This is a list of winners of the Laureus World Sports Awards 2017:

Sportsman of the Year

(Jamaica) Usain Bolt Athletics
(United States) Stephen Curry Basketball
(United Kingdom) Mo Farah Athletics
(United States) LeBron James Basketball
(United Kingdom) Andy Murray Tennis
(Portugal) Cristiano Ronaldo Football

Sprint king Usain Bolt pipped the likes of Cristiano Ronaldo and LeBron James to win the ‘Sportsman of the Year’ trophy for the record-equalling fourth time while gymnast Simone Biles clinched the top honour in the women’s category at the Laureus World Awards.

Bolt, who won this award in 2009, 2010 and 2013, walked away with the ‘Oscar of Sports’ for the fourth time, joining tennis legends Roger Federer and Serena Williams, and surfer Kelly Slater as four-time Laureus award winner.

Michael Phelps bagged the ‘Comeback of the Year’ award.

Formula One champion Nico Rosberg claimed the Breakthrough of the Year award.

Leicester City bagged a special Laureus Spirit of Sport award to mark their remarkable achievement by winning English football’s Premier League.