Legal Services Authority Gets New Chairman

Justice Dipak Misra of the Supreme Court has been appointed as the Executive Chairman of National Legal Services Authority (NALSA), with effect from 4th January, 2017.

The post was vacant after Justice JS Kehar became Chief Justice of India, who is now the Patron-in-Chief of the NALSA.

Justice Dipak Misra started his career as judge when he was appointed as an Additional Judge of the Orissa High Court.

National Legal Services Authority of India (NALSA) was formed on 5 December 1995 under the authority of the Legal Services Authorities Act 1987. Its purpose is to provide free legal services to eligible candidates (defined in Sec. 12 of the Act), and to organize Lok Adalats for speedy resolution of cases.

The Chief Justice of India is patron-in-chief of NALSA while second seniormost judge of Supreme Court of India is the Executive-Chairman. There is a provision for similar mechanism at state and district level also headed by Chief Justice of High Courts and Chief Judges of District courts respectively.

The prime objective of NALSA is speedy disposal of cases and reducing the burden of judiciary.