Manchester United Win League Cup

The EFL Cup, or simply the League Cup, is an annual knockout football competition in men’s domestic English football.

Organised by the English Football League (EFL), it is open to any club within the top four levels of the English football league system – 92 clubs in total – comprising the top level Premier League, and the three divisions of the English Football League’s own league competition (Championship, League One and League Two).

Zlatan Ibrahimovic powered win in the League Cup for Manchester United, sealing a 3-2 victory over Southampton after a two-goal lead was thrown away by Jose Mourinho’s side.

In this year’s tournament, Zlatan Ibrahimovic sealed the first major silverware of Jose Mourinho’s Manchester United reign and broke Southampton’s hearts as the Swedish star’s late goal clinched a dramatic 3-2 victory in League Cup final.

Mourinho is the first United manager to win a top prize in his maiden season at Old Trafford, a feat not even Ferguson or Matt Busby achieved. It was also the 54-year-old’s 19th major trophy of his glittering career.