Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs FelicitatesWinners of 16th National Youth Parliament Competition, 2019-20 for Universities/Colleges

azadi ka amrit mahotsav

The Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs today organised Prize Distribution Function of the 16th National Youth Parliament Competition, 2019-20 for Universities/Colleges at GMC Balayogi Auditorium, Parliament House Complex, New Delhi.


Union Minister of State (Independent Charge) of the Ministry of Law and Justice; Minister of State in the Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs; and Minister of State in the Ministry of Culture Shri Arjun Ram Meghwal, presided over the function and awarded ‘The Running Shield’ and Trophy to the winning team of students of Central University of Punjab, Bathinda. Five other Universities/Colleges were also conferred Awards for their meritorious performance in the competition. The list of the winning institutions is given below:

Sl. No.


Name of the University/College


DAV College, Jalandhar


Jadavpur University, Kolkata


University of Mumbai, Mumbai


Chanakya National Law University, Patna


Shivaji University, Kolhapur


Students of Central University of Punjab, Bathinda which stood first at National Level in the 16thNational Youth Parliament Competition, presented a repeat performance of their ‘Youth Parliament’ sitting.

Union Minister, Shri Meghwal held an interactive session with the students during the program. The Minister exhorted while interacting with the students that the younger generation should learn and adapt the democratic values and ethics of democracy. ShriMeghwal also administered the pledge to all the attendees of the function for Healthy Lifestyle to save the Environment.



In his welcome address, Secretary, Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs, Shri Umang Narulagave a clarion call to the students to popularise and ingrain the practices and process of Parliamentary proceedings.

The Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs has been organizing Youth Parliament Competitions for Universities/Colleges for the past 27 years. Under the scheme of Youth Parliament Competition for Universities/Colleges, the 16thCompetition in the series was organized among 36 Universities/Colleges of the country.

The Youth Parliament Scheme aims at acquainting the young generation with the practices and procedures of parliament, techniques of discussion and debate; developing leadership qualities, spirit of self-discipline, tolerance of diverse opinions and healthy competition; inculcating among youth the art & skill of effective oratory, righteous expression of views, and other virtues of a democratic way of life in them – all of which are the hallmark of a Democracy.

Dr. Anil Bonde, Member of Parliament (Rajya Sabha), Professor Raghavendra Prasad Tiwari, Vice Chancellor, Central University of Punjab, Bathinda also addressed the audience during the function. Shri BratinSnngupta, Ex-Member of Parliament (Rajya Sabha) was also present during the function.


Dr. Satya Prakash, Additional Secretary, Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs gave Vote of Thanks to dignitaries and the audience for attending this important function of the Ministry.



Source PIB