Nalanda University Gets New Board

IAS Prelims 2023

Nalanda University new governing board will be headed by Nalanda University Chancellor George Yeo and have the Vice-Chancellor and representatives of India, China, Australia, Laos and Thailand on it.

Former Rajya Sabha MP and retired bureaucrat N.K. Singh is the India representative on the board.

The board will also have the Secretary (East) in the Ministry of External Affairs, two members from the Bihar government, one representative from the Ministry of Human Resource Development at least of Additional Secretary rank and three “renowned academicians” — Professor Arvind Sharma from McGill University of Canada; Indian Council for Cultural Relations president Professor Lokesh Chandra and NITI Aayog Vice-Chairman Dr. Arvind Panagariya.

The seniormost dean will discharge the duties of the V-C after Dr. Sabharwal leaves.

Nobel Laureate Amartya Sen, who quit as Chancellor in 2015, and academic and Trinamool Congress Rajya Sabha MP Sugata Bose are no longer on the board.

Nalanda University was initially a Bihar government initiative to rebuild the renowned ancient seat of learning.