National Investment and Manufacturing Zones

Government notified the National Manufacturing Policy (NMP) on 4th November, 2011 with the objective of enhancing the share of manufacturing in GDP to 25% and creating 100 million jobs over a decade or so.

National Investment and Manufacturing Zones (NIMZs) are one of the important instruments of the Policy to achieve its objectives.

So far Government has granted ‘in-principle’ approval to the fourteen NIMZs (outside the DMIC region). These are:

i. Nagpur in Maharashtra
ii. Prakasam in Andhra Pradesh
iii. Chittoor in Andhra Pradesh
iv. Medak in Telangana
v. Hyderabad Pharma NIMZ at Rangareddy and Mahabubnagar Districts in Telangana.
vi. Tumkur in Karnataka
vii. Kolar in Karnataka
viii. Bidar in Karnataka
ix. Gulbarga in Karnataka
x. Kalinganagar, Jajpur District in Odisha
xi. Ramanathapuram District of Tamil Nadu
xii. Ponneri Taluk, Thiruvallur District, Tamil Nadu
xiii. Auraiya District in Uttar Pradesh and
xiv. Jhansi District in Uttar Pradesh

Of these, the NIMZ at Prakasam in Andhra Pradesh; Medak in Telangana and Kalinganagar, Jajpur district in Odisha have been granted final approval.

Eight Investment Regions along the Delhi Mumbai Industrial Corridor (DMIC) project have also been announced as NIMZs. The details are as under:

i. Ahmedabad-Dholera Investment Region, Gujarat
ii. Shendra-Bidkin Industrial Park city near Aurangabad, Maharashtra
iii. Manesar-Bawal Investment Region, Haryana
iv. Khushkhera-Bhiwadi-Neemrana Investment Region, Rajasthan
v. Pithampur-Dhar-Mhow Investment Region, Madhya Pradesh
vi. Dadri-Noida-Ghaziabad Investment Region, Uttar Pradesh
vii. Dighi Port Industrial Area, Maharashtra ; and
viii. Jodhpur-Pali-Marwar Region in Rajasthan