National Sports Observers Appointed

IAS Prelims 2023

Government has designated the following Olympians as National Observers for the disciplines mentioned against each of them:-

S. No. Sports Disciplines Name of National Observers
1 Athletics Ms. P.T. Usha

Ms. Anju Bobby George

2 Archery Dr. Sanjeev Kumar Singh
3 Badminton Ms. Aparna Popat
4 Boxing Ms. Mary Kom

Shri Akhil Kumar

5 Hockey Shri Jagbir Singh
6 Shooting Shri Abhinav Bindra
7 Tennis Shri Somdev Devvarman
8 Weightlifting Ms. Karnam Malleshwari
9 Wrestling Shri Sushil Kumar
10 Football Shri I. M. Vijayan
11 Swimming Shri Khajan Singh
12 Table Tennis Shri Kamlesh Mehta

The National Observers will assist the Government, Sports Authority of India, and National Sports Federations (NSFs) concerned including Indian Olympic Association in the preparation and implementation of the long term development plan with respect to high priority and priority sports covering all aspects including selection policy, quality specifications for National Camps, long term athlete development plan, coaching development, development of technical officials and monitoring & evaluation of athlete performance.

Apart from providing inputs for their respective disciplines, the National Observers would also to be consulted as a group on crosscutting issues impacting sports development in the country.

The National Observers would be playing a key role in implementation of action plans for Mission Olympics 2020, 2024 and 2028.