Nauru Joins International Solar Alliance

IAS Prelims 2023

The world’s smallest nation Nauru — has become the sixth country to ratify the International Solar Alliance (ISA) Framework pact initiated by the Indian and French Governments at the climate change summit held at Paris in 2015.

Nauru, which has a population of just 10,200-odd, is particularly vulnerable to the adverse effects of climate change.

Nauru has a hot and humid climate due to its proximity to the equator. 30% of the country’s needs are currently met through solar power installations and it had set a target to attain 50% of energy production from renewable sources by 2020.

Djibouti, Cote d’Ivoire, Comoros, Somalia and Ghana have also signed the ISA framework agreement to join the International Solar Alliance.

A total of 30 countries (Bangladesh, Brazil, Burkina Faso, Cambodia, Democratic Republic of Congo, Dominican Republic, Ethiopia, Fiji, France, Guinea Bissau, India, Liberia, Madagascar, Mali, Nauru, Niger, Republic of Guinea, Senegal, Seychelles, Sudan, Tanzania, Tonga, Tuvalu, and Vanuatu) signed the ISA Framework Agreement in Marrakech on 15 November 2016 (within 41 days of finalizing the text of the agreement, a record in itself). Rwanda signed the Framework Agreement on 9 January 2017, taking the total number of signatories to 25 countries.

Within 7 months of the opening of the Framework Agreement for signature in November 2016, the total number of signatories to the ISA framework agreement have reached 31, with 6 countries ratifying the agreement, a record in itself. The ISA as a legal entity will come into existence once 15 countries ratify and deposit the framework agreement.

India and France were the first two countries to ratify the Framework Agreement. Fiji has also completed the ratification process.

Headquartered in India, the solar alliance, conceived as a coalition of solar resource-rich countries to collaborate on meeting their energy needs through a common, agreed approach, will become a legal entity once at least 15 countries ratify and deposit the framework agreement.

India has earmarked about $2 billion to finance solar projects in Africa out of it commitment to provide $10 billion of concessional lines of credit for projects in the continent.