New Post Office Passport Seva Kendras Opened

IAS Prelims 2023

The Ministry of External Affairs and the Department of Post have decided to utilise the Head Post Office (HPO) in the various States as Post Office Passport Seva Kendra (POPSK) for delivering passport related services to the citizens of the country.

The objective of this partnership is to extend passport related services on a larger scale and to ensure wider area coverage.

Following the success of the pilot POPSK at Mysore in Karnataka and at Dahod in Gujarat, MEA and DoP announced in February 2017 their decision to open 64 additional POPSK [56 (Fifty Six) in the first batch announced on 9th February, 2017 and 8 (Eight) in the second batch announced on 28 February, 2017] in the various States of the country.

10 (Ten) POPSK at Asansol (West Bengal), Kavaratti (Lakshadweep), Kota (Rajasthan), Muzaffarpur (Bihar), Pathanamthitta (Kerala), Raiganj (West Bengal), Rourkela (Odisha), Salem (Tamil Nadu), Udhampur (Jammu & Kashmir), Vidisha (Madhya Pradesh) have since been inaugurated taking the total number of POPSK in the country to 12 (twelve).

Following the successful functioning of these 12 (Twelve) POPSK, MEA and DoP have now decided to open another 19 (Nineteen) POPSK at the following Post Offices:

State Places
Goa South Goa
Punjab Bhatinda, Gurdaspur, Patiala
Uttarakhand Almora, Haldwani, Nainital
Uttar Pradesh Agra, Allahabad, Ayodhya, Bijnaur, Deoria, Gautam Budh Nagar (NOIDA), Gazipur, Jhansi, Mathura, Meerut, Pilibhit, Sultanpur

MEA and DoP are working closely for the early commencement of passport related services at the remaining 73 POPSK.