OP Bhatt Appointed Tata Steel Chairman

The Tata Steel board replaced Cyrus Mistry with OP Bhatt, an independent director, as the company’s chairman with a majority of the members voting in favour of the resolution.

However, Mistry remains a director of Tata Steel.

Srinivasan is chairman of Tractor and Farm Equipment, while Hussain, who is on the board of Tata Sons, recently replaced Mistry as chairman at TCS.

Robb is chairman of Tata Steel Europe, Schraven is ex-deputy chairman of Corus and Mehrotra is the former chief of Life Insurance Corporation.

Of the six independent directors, four — Srinivasan, Bhatt, Robb and Schraven — backed Mistry’s removal.