Prime Minister Chairs Business Roundtable in Tokyo

IAS Prelims 2023

Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi chaired a roundtable with Japanese business leaders on 23 May 2022 in Tokyo.

Top executives and CEOs of 34 Japanese companies participated in the event. Majority of these companies have investments and operations in India. The companies represented diverse sectors including automobiles, electronics, semiconductors, steel, technology, trading and banking & finance. Key business bodies and organizations from India and Japan such as Keidanren, Japan External Trade Organization (JETRO), Japan International Cooperation Agency (JICA), Japan Bank for International Cooperation (JBIC), Japan-India Business Consultative Committee(JIBCC) and Invest India also participated in the event.

Stressing that India and Japan are natural partners, Prime Minister lauded the business community as brand ambassadors of the immense potential of India-Japan ties. Prime Minister said that during the visit of Prime Minister Kishida to India in March 2022, both countries had set an ambitious target of investment of Japanese Yen 5 trillion over the next 5 years. Prime Minister highlighted recent developments in economic ties, such as India-Japan Industrial Competitiveness Partnership (IJICP) and Clean Energy Partnership, among others. He talked about initiatives such National Infrastructure Pipeline (NIP), Production Linked Incentive (PLI) scheme, and semiconductor policy and highlighted the robust startup ecosystem of India.

Prime Minister noted that despite the slowdown in global FDI, India has attracted record FDI of USD 84 billion in the previous financial year. He termed this a vote of confidence of India’s economic potential. He invited greater participation by Japanese companies in India and proposed celebrating Japan’s contribution to India’s development journey in the form of a ‘Japan Week’.

The following Business Leaders participated in the Business Forum:

Name Designation Organization

Mr. Seiji Kuraishi

Chairman and Director

Honda Motor Co., Ltd.

Mr. Makoto Uchida

Representative Executive Officer, President & CEO

Nissan Motor Corporation

Mr. Akio Toyoda

President and member of board of directors

Toyota Motor Corporation

Mr. Yoshihiro Hidaka

President, CEO & Representative Director

Yamaha Motor Corporation

Mr. Toshihiro Suzuki

President & Representative Director

Suzuki Motor Corporation

Mr. Seiji Imai

Chairman of Mizuho Financial Group

Mizuho Bank Ltd.

Mr. Hiroaki Fujisue

Advisor, MUFG Bank Ltd. and Chairman, JIBCC

MUFG Bank Ltd. and JIBCC

Mr. Takeshi Kunibe

Chairman of the Board of both Sumitomo Mitsui Financial Group (SMFG) and Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporation (SMBC)

Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporation

Mr. Koji Nagai


Nomura Securities Co., Ltd.

Mr. Kazuo Nishitani

Secretary General

Japan-India Business Co-operation Committee

Mr. Masakazu Kubota



Mr. Kyohei Hosono

Director and COO

Dream Incubator Inc.

Mr. Keiichi Iwata

President of Sumitomo Chemical Co., Ltd Vice Chairman of Japan Petrochemical Industry Association

Sumitomo Chemical Co. Ltd.

Mr. Tsugio Mitsuoka

Chairman of the Board

IHI Corporation

Mr. Yoshinori Kanehana

Chairman of Board

Kawasaki Heavy Industries, Ltd.

Mr. Ryuko Hira

President & Representative Director

Hotel Management International Co. Ltd.

Mr. Hiroko Ogawa


Brooks & Co. Ltd.

Mr. Vivek Mahajan

Senior Executive Vice President, CTO

Fujitsu Ltd.

Mr. Toshiya Matsuki

Senior Vice President

NEC Corporation

Mr. Kazushige Nobutani



Mr. Yamada Junichi

Executive Senior Vice President


Mr. Tadashi Maeda



Mr. Ajay Singh

Managing Executive Officer

Mitsui O.S.K. Lines

Mr. Toshiaki Higashihara

Director, Representative Executive Officer, Executive Chairman & CEO

Hitachi Ltd.

Mr. Yoshihiro Mineno

Senior Executive Officer, Member of the Board

Daikin Industries Ltd.

Mr. Yoshihisa Kitano

President & CEO

JFE Steel Corporation

Mr. Eiji Hashimoto

Representative Director and President

Nippon Steel Corporation

Mr. Akihiro Nikkaku

President and Representative Member of the Board

Toray Industries, Inc.

Mr. Motoaki Uno

Representative Director & Senior Executive Managing Officer

Mitsui & Co. Ltd.

Mr. Masayoshi Fujimoto

Representative Director, President & CEO

Sojitz Corporation

Mr. Toshikazu Nambu

Executive Vice President, Representative Director

Sumitomo Corporation

Mr. Ichiro Kashitani


Toyota Tsusho Corporation

Mr. Ichiro Takahara

Vice Chairman, Member of the Board

Marubeni Corporation

Mr. Yoji Taguchi

Chairman and Managing Director of Mitsubishi Corporation India Private Limited

Mitsubishi Corporation



Source PIB