Pt. Deendayal Krishi Puruskars

The Union Ministry of Agriculture and Farmers Welfare has announced felicitation of farmers at the National and Regional level every year on the occasion of Birth Anniversary of Pt. Deen Dayal Upadhyay.

Government of India has instituted Pandit Deendayal Upadhyay Antyodaya Krishi Puruskar (National & Zonal) from this year 2016.

The awards include one award at national level comprising Rs. One lakh and 11 zonal awards comprising of Rs. 50 thousand each along with a citation and certificate.

This award has been instituted for recognizing the contributions of marginal, small and landless farmers for developing integrated and sustainable models of agricultural farming.


The National Award for the year 2016 has been won by Smt. Krishna Yadav, an enterprising lady farmer from, Dinpur, Najafgarh for her outstanding achievements in the processing and value addition of food especially fruits and vegetables.

Among Zonal Awardees:

Among Zonal Awardees, Jinder Singh, a small farmer from Roopnagar, Punjab has won the award from Zone I comprising of the states of Punjab, Uttarakhand, Himachal Pradesh and Delhi.

The award from Zone II comprising the states of Rajasthan, Haryana and Delhi has gone to Pooja Sharma, a small Haryana farmer who has won all round accolades for her innovative ways of farming.

Shri Moti s/o Shri Shyama a small farmer from Saidasaunkh village in Mathura who owns a meagre 1.5 acres of land has won the award from Zone III which covers entire Uttar Pradesh.

Deepak Kumar Singh from Bishanpur Banka, Bihar has been conferred this award from Zone IV comprising the states of Bihar and Jharkhand.

Ashok Kumar Sarkar, Nimbudera, a small farmer from, Andaman and Nicobar Island has been awarded for his outstanding entrepreneurial skill in agriculture production from the Zone V comprising of the states of West Bengal, Orissa and Andaman & Nicobar Islands.

From Zone VI comprising of the states of Assam, Arunachal Pradesh and Sikkim, an enterprising lady farmer Anuradha Chhetri of Pakyong, East Sikkim has been awarded.

From Zone VII comprising of the eastern states of Tripura, Nagaland, Manipur, Mizoram and Meghalaya, a small farmer Shri Biswajit Majumder from Sabroom, Tripura has been awarded.

Hasam Bhai Jumabhai Musangara, an enterprising fish farmer from Gir, Somnath, Gujarat has been awarded for his outstanding achievements in Agriculture especially fisheries from Zone VIII comprising of the states of Maharashtra, Gujarat, Goa, Daman & Diu and Dadra Nagar Haveli.

From Zone IX comprising of the states of Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh, Balaram Patidar a progressive and innovative farmer from Sarangi, in Jhabua, Madhya Pradesh has been awarded.

Alluri Suryanarayana Murthy, a small farmer from East Godavari, Andhra Pradesh has been awarded from Zone X comprising of the states of Andhra Pradesh, Tamil Nadu and Puducherry.

The award from Zone XI comprising of the states of Karnataka, Kerala and Lakshadweep has been won by A. Baburaj, Kozhikode, Kerala.