Re-Constituted Central Advisory Board on Culture

IAS Prelims 2023

Dr. Mahesh Sharma, Minister for Culture and Tourism chaired the “First Meeting of the Re-constituted Central Advisory Board on Culture (CABC)”.

The members of the CABC were requested to highlight priority areas in the fields of art, music, dance and literature.

Shri Channu Lal Mishra, Shri Vasudeo Kamath, Prof. S.R. Leela, Smt. Uma Sharma, Prof. M. Balasubramaniam, Shri Shyam Sharma, Shri Suresh Talwalkar, Prof. S.C. Mittal and renowned lyricist Shri Sameer Anjaan, were among the members present in the meeting.

Some of the members were of the view that the local cultures and artists at the village and district level need to be galvanized so as to bring about a true cultural revival.

The Minister assured the members of all possible help from the Ministry of Culture in this brain-storming session.

The next CABC meeting has been scheduled for 21st November, 2016 at Varanasi wherein these priority areas highlighted by the artists would be taken forward.