Syed Modi Grand Prix Title

IAS Prelims 2023

Olympic silver medallist PV Sindhu has won her maiden women’s singles crown at the Syed Modi Grand Prix Gold badminton tournament in Lucknow.

Sindhu beat Indonesia’s Gregoria Mariska in the summit clash in straight games 21-13, 21-14.

In the Men’s Singles, National Champion Sameer Verma bagged the title defeating compatriot B Sai Praneeth 21-19, 21-16.

India also claimed the Mixed Doubles title, when Pranaav Jerry Chopra and N Sikki Reddy emerged winners by beating compatriots Ashwini Ponnappa and B Sumeeth Reddy 22-20 21-10 in the final.

Overall, India scooped up three titles out of the five events in the tournament.

In the Women’s Doubles final, the Denmark duo of Kamilla Ryter Juhl and Christina Pedersen beat the Indian combination of Ashwini Ponnappa and Sikki Reddy 21-16, 21-18.

The Men’s Doubles title was also claimed by Denmark, when Mathias Boe and Carsten Mogensen emerged winners against the Chinese Taipeh pair of Lu Ching Yao and Yang Po Han in straight games 21-14, 21-15.