Task Force on Artificial Intelligence for Economic Transformation

Commerce and Industry Minister Nirmala Sitharaman has constituted a Task Force on Artificial Intelligence (AI) for India’s Economic Transformation.

With rapid development in the fields of information technology and hardware, the world is about to witness a fourth industrial revolution.

Driven by the power of big data, high computing capacity, artificial intelligence and analytics, Industry 4.0 aims to digitise the manufacturing sector.

The panel will comprise of experts, academics, researchers and industry leaders and will explore possibilities to leverage AI for development across various fields.

The task force will submit concrete and implementable recommendations for government, industry and research institutions .

The task force will have the following members:
1. Dr. V. Kamakoti, IIT Madras – Chairperson
2. Mr. Anuj Kapuria, High Tech RoboticSystemz Ltd.
3. Dr. Anurag Agarwal, Institute of Genomics & Integrative Biology, CSIR
4. Dr. Ashish Dutta, IIT Kanpur
5. Ms. Ashwini Asokan, Mad Street Den, Chennai
6. Mr. Gautam Shroff, Vice President & Chief Scientist, TCS Innovation Labs, Tata Consultancy Services, Gurgaon
7. Mr. G. H. Rao, HCL Technology
8. Mr. G. Madhusudan, IIT Madras
9. Mr. G. V. N. Apparao, Ex-Chief Technology Officer (CTO), Cognizant
10. Ms. Komal Sharma Talwar, Founder, XLPAT
11. Mr. Kunal Nandwani, Founder & CEO, uTrade Solutions
12. Dr. Shantanu Chaudhary, IIT Delhi, Department of Electrical Engineering
13. Mr. Vijay Kumar Sankarapu, Founder & CEO, Arya
14. Mr. Ajay Kumar, Additional Secretary, Ministry of Electronics & IT
15. Mr. Amandeep Gill, Ambassador/PR to CD, Geneva
16. Mr. K. Nagaraj Naidu, Joint Secretary (ITPO), Department of Economic Affairs, Ministry of Finance
17. Dr. Aloke Mukherjee, DRDO
18. Mr. Ravinder, Joint Secretary, DIPP, Ministry of Commerce & Industry – Convenor

In addition to regular members, official participation from the following organizations shall also be requested:
1. NITI Aayog,
2. Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology
3. Department of Science & Technology