UGC Eases Process For Deemed Varsity Status

IAS Prelims 2023

The University Grants Commission (UGC) has amended regulations for Deemed to be Universities (DTBU), keeping in view the changing requirements and recent policies of the government.

At present, there are 123 DTBUs in the country, out of which 35 are government controlled and 88 privately managed.

The application process has been simplified and made more objective. The concept of Letter of Intent has been introduced, subjectivity has also been removed.

Instead of land requirement, built-up area has been specified and infrastructure requirement for off campus defined.

Stressing on quality, the DTBU status will be provisional for first five years and will be confirmed thereafter on the report of UGC review committee, among other measures.

Deemed universities can open off-campuses only after five years.

Every deemed university will have an anti-ragging cell, anti-discrimination cell, gender sensitisation cell, internal complaints committee for prevention of sexual harassment, and barrier-free access for specially-abled students in all places.

Moreover, deemed universities shall be allowed to take credits earned from other institutions under Choice Based Credit System as per UGC norms.

Institution Deemed to be Universities shall review the syllabus every three years keeping in view the developments in the domains of knowledge.

In order to reduce government interference, several measures have been taken. It has been decided that the government will have nominees in only those DTBUs that are controlled by the government or has more than or equal to 50% funding.

For other DTBUs, UGC will provide the nominee from a panel of names made by search committee.

Moreover, restrictions on who can be a Chancellor have been removed and the UGC can give direction to DTBUs for implementation of any law or policy of the government.