UN Appoints 17 Youth Leaders on SDGs

IAS Prelims 2023

The United Nations appointed the 17 youth leaders who have been recognized for their leadership and contribution to the achievement of the 17 Global Goals, also known as Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), to end poverty, fight inequality and injustice, and tackle climate change by 2030.

The flagship initiative of the Office of the Secretary-General’s ‘Envoy on Youth’ comes against a backdrop of increasing efforts by the UN to engage young people in the implementation of SDGs.

The 17 Youth Leaders are: Trisha Shetty (India); Anthony Ford-Shubrook (the United Kingdom); Rita Kimani (Kenya); Rainier Mallol (the Dominican Republic); Edda Hamar (Iceland/Australia); Vincent Loka (Indonesia); Samar Samir Mezghanni (Tunisia/Iraq); Lutfi Fadil Lokman (Malaysia); Carolina Medina (Colombia); Jake Horowitz (the United States); Shougat Nazbin Khan (Bangladesh); Samuel Malinga (Uganda); Safaath Ahmed Zahir (the Republic of Maldives); Ankit Kawatra (India); Nikki Fraser (Canada); Karan Jerath (the United States); and Tere Gonzalez Garcia (Mexico).

The Young Leaders are scheduled to take part in a series of high-level meetings and events during the 71st session of the General Assembly.