Union Home Minister’s “Special Operation Medal” for the year 2022 awarded for 4 Special Operations, Includes 11 officers from Maharashtra

azadi ka amrit mahotsav

The “Union Home Minister’s Special Operation Medal” for the year 2022 have been awarded for 4 Special Operations. The medal winners include 11 from Maharashtra. Their names and designations: 1. Ankit Triloknath Goyal, IPS, SP 2. Sameer Aslam Sheikh, IPS, ASP 3. Sandip Punja Mandlik – Inspector 4. Vaibhav Ashok Rankhamb – API 5. Sudarshan Suresh Katkar, API 6. Ratiram Raghunath Poreti – APSI 7. Ramsay Gawali Uike – HC 8. Lalit Ghanshyam Raut – Naik 9. Shagir Ahmad Sheikh, Naik 10. Prashant Amrut Barsagade, Constable and 11. Amardeep Tarachand Ramteke, Constable.

The medal was constituted in 2018 with the objective to recognize those operations, which have high degree of planning, high significance for the security of the country/State/UT and have significant impact on the security of larger sections of the society. The award shall be conferred for Special Operation in the areas such as counter terrorism, border action, arms control, prevention of narcotics smuggling and rescue operations. It is announced on 31st of October every year.  In a year, normally 3 Special Operations are considered for the award and in extraordinary circumstances; the award may be given up to 5 Special Operations to encourage State/UT Police.

(Click here for List of Awardees)


Sonal T/CYadav


Follow us on social media: @PIBMumbai   Image result for facebook icon /PIBMumbai    /pibmumbai  pibmumbai[at]gmail[dot]com  /PIBMumbai    /pibmumbai

Source PIB