West Bengal Win Santosh Trophy

West Bengal lifts the Santosh Trophy for the 32nd time by defeating Goa One-Nil in the final of the domestic football tournament at Bambolim.

West Bengal ended a six-year wait having last won the title in 2011. Goa last won it in 2009.

Goa, who had hosted the tournament thrice prior to the 2016-17 edition, lost to Bengal in the semifinal in 1972 and the final in 1996, while won against Kerala in 1990.

The Santosh Trophy is an association football knock-out competition contested by the regional state associations and government institutions under the All India Football Federation (AIFF), the sport’s governing body in India.

2000–01 Mumbai Kerala
2002–03 Imphal Manipur
2004–05 Delhi Kerala
2005–06 Kochi Goa
2006–07 Gurgaon Punjab
2007–08 Srinagar Punjab
2008–09 Chennai Goa
2009–10 Kolkata West Bengal
2010–11 Assam West Bengal
2011–12 Odisha Services
2012–13 Kerala Services
2013–14 Siliguri Mizoram
2014–15 Ludhiana Services
2015–16 Nagpur Services
2016–17 Goa West Bengal