WTO Members Elects New General Council

The WTO General Council approved by consensus the following chairpersons for WTO bodies: Mr Xavier Carim of South Africa (General Council) and HMr Junichi Ihara of Japan (Dispute Settlement Body).

Following the approval of the two chairs by the General Council, Director-General Roberto Azevêdo thanked the departing General Council Chair, Ambassador Harald Neple of Norway, for his hard work and dedication over the past year.