Asia Pacific Metrology Programme Meet in India

The 33rd Asia Pacific Metrology Program General Assembly and Related Meetings 2017 (APMP GA 2017) was held at CSIR-National Physical Laboratory, New Delhi.

On this occasion, a symposium on “Indian Strategy for Quality Infrastructure” was inaugurated.

President, International Bureau of Weights and Measures (BIPM) Dr. Milton Martin, presided over the function. Chairperson, Asia Pacific Metrology Program(APMP) Dr. T. Toshiyuki and several other dignitaries were also present.

CSIR-National Physical Laboratory, (CSIR-NPL) is the National Metrology Institute (NMI) of India and has responsibility of realization, establishment, maintenance and dissemination of Indian Primary Standards to the nation, at par to the international level, through R & D and most up-to-date technologies. This has been mandate by the Act of Parliament.

As the NMI, CSIR-NPL is responsible for the highest level of time and frequency measurements in India, maintenance and dissemination of Indian Standard Time (IST) and keeping it traceable to the International organizations including International Bureau of Weights and Measures (BIPM).

International Atomic Time, TAI is the coordinated reference time established by the International Bureau of Weights and Measures (BIPM) at Paris and it is not a physical clock. It is a system time or a “paper clock”, calculated using more than 450 clocks in approximately 75 laboratories around the globe as a weighted mean value.

Universal Coordinated Time or UTC is also derived based on atomic time, but its time is adjusted by 1sec after certain time to keep it in phase with Universal Time, UT, which is based on the Earth’s rotation around its own axis. A time scale is defined by a starting point and is thereafter continuously accumulated in time units.

CSIR-NPL maintains a timescale to realize its local UTC, known as UTC (NPLI) which is traceable BIPM.

The present timescale consists of five high performance Cesium clocks, one active Hydrogen Maser and those are contributing to International Atomic Time (TAI) maintained by BIPM.

CSIR-NPL providing time and frequency traceability link to different sectors within the country using different advanced technologies like Two-way Satellite Time and Frequency Transfer (TWSTFT) and Common View Global Navigational Satellite System (CVGNSS).

Over several decades CSIR-NPL also providing a service of IST dissemination through internet and telephone for the use of public and government sectors.

Through a MoU with Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO), CSIR-NPL is providing Time and Frequency Traceability from the National Time Scale of CSIR-NPL to IRNWT-I and IRNWT-II of ISTRAC/ISRO for synchronizing Indian regional navigational satellite system (NAVIC) with the IST.

Additionally, the accurate time as per the international standard has many more applications in advanced technologies and sciences.

As for example navigation, meteorology, surveillance, electronic transaction, online trade and so on relies on IST at various accuracy levels from few ns to few 100 ms. Upcoming state of the art scientific activity, LIGO India, a very large baseline radio telescope and neutrino detection experiment also requires accurate time synchronization.

India’s indigenously developed global positioning system called NavIC, has been configured to synchronize its clocks to time provided by the CSIR-NPL. Till recently, the satellites on the NavIC managed by ISRO, relied on US-based GPS system. The linking with CSIR-NPL will aid in high precision satellite based communication, precise guidance of missiles and navigation.

The Asia Pacific Metrology Programme (APMP) is a grouping of national metrology institutes (NMIs) from the Asia-Pacific region engaged in improving regional metrological capability through the sharing of expertise and exchange of technical services among Member laboratories.

APMP is also a Regional Metrology Organization (RMO) recognized by the International Committee for Weights and Measures (CIPM) for the purpose of worldwide mutual recognition of measurement standards and of calibration and measurement certificates.

Member Nations of APMP:

Country Year of Affiliation Organisation Abbreviation
Australia 1980 1. National Measurement Institute, Australia NMIA
1999 2. Australian Radiation Protection and Nuclear Safety Agency ARPANSA
2004 3. Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation ANSTO
Bangladesh   1. Bangladesh National Metrology Laboratory NML-BSTI
2013 2. Designated Reference Institute for Chemical
Cambodia 2014 National Measurement Center NMC
China 1981 National Institute of Metrology NIM
Chinese Taipei 1992 1. Center for Measurement Standards/Industrial Technology Research Institute CMS/ITRI
1999 2. Institute of Nuclear Energy Research INER
1999 3. Chunghwa Telecom Co., Ltd. Chunghwa T
DPR of Korea 2001 Central Institute of Metrology CIM
Fiji 1980 Fiji National Measurement Laboratory,  Ministry of
Commerce, Industry,Trade & Public Enterprises
Hong Kong, China 1977 1. Standards and Calibration Laboratory SCL
2001 2. Government Laboratory GL
India 1977 1. National Physical Laboratory, India NPLI
2001 2. Bhabha Atomic Research Centre BARC
Indonesia 1980 1. Pusat Penelitian Metrologi, Lembaga Ilmu Pengetahuan Indonesia RCM-LIPI
2017 2. National Nuclear Energy Agency of Indonesia PTKMR-BATAN
Japan 1992 1. National Metrology Institute of Japan NMIJ/AIST
1999 2. National Institute of Information and Communications Technology NICT
2005 3. Chemicals Evaluation and Research Institute, Japan CERI
2007 4. Japan Electric Meters Inspection Corporation JEMIC
(the Republic of) Korea 1980 Korea Research Institute of Standards and Science(KRISS) KRISS
Macao, China 2017 Public Health Laboratory PHL
Malaysia 1977 1. National Metrology Institute of Malaysia NMIM
2005 2. Malaysian Nuclear Agency NUCLEAR MALAYSIA
2016 3. Department of Chemistry, Malaysia KIMIA
Mongolia 2002 1. Mongolian Agency for Standardization and Metrology(MASM) MASM
2016 2. Central Geological Laboratory of Mongolia CGL
Nepal 1982 Nepal Bureau of Standards and Metrology NBSM
New Zealand 1977 Measurement Standards Laboratory, Industrial Research Limited MSL-IRL
Pakistan 1980 National Physical & Standards Laboratory NPSL
Papua New Guinea 2007 National Institute of Standards & Industrial Technology NISIT
Philippines 1980 Industrial Technology Development Institute ITDI
Russia 2009 D.I. Mendeleyev Institute for Metrology (VNIIM) VNIIM
Singapore 1977 1. National Metrology Center, A*STAR A*STAR
2008 2. Health Sciences Authority, HSA HSA
Sri Lanka 1977 Measurement Units, Standards & Services Department MUSSD
Thailand 1979 1. National Institute of Metrology (Thailand) NIMT
2. Department of Science Service DSS
3. Thailand Institute of Scientific & Technological Research TISTR
2008 4. Office of Atoms for Peace OAP
Vietnam 1992 Vietnam Metrology Institute VMI

 Associate Members

Country Year of Affiliation Organisation Abbreviation
Egypt 1996 National Institute for Standards NIS
Iran 2017 National Metrology Center of Iran NMCI
Iraq 2017 Central Organization for Standardization and Quality Control COSQC
Jordan 2006 Jordan National Metrology Institute JNMI
Kazakhstan 2007 Kazakhstan Institute of Metrology KazInMetr
Kenya 2010 Kenya Bureau of Standards KEBS
South Africa 1997 National Metrology Institute of South Africa NMISA
Syria 1997 National Standards and Calibration Laboratory NSCL
United Arab Emirates 2013 Dubai Central Laboratory Department DCL
2016 Emirates Metrology Institute EMI
United Kingdom 2017 National Physical Laboratory NPL
United States of America 2016 National Institute of Standards and Technology NIST