Award for Investigative Journalism Announced

Shyamlal Yadav and Jay Mazoomdaar of ‘The Indian Express’ have won the Asian College of Journalism (ACJ) Award for Investigative Journalism for 2016.

They got the award for their series of stories on One-rupee Jan Dhan trick, published in The Indian Express in September 2016.

A three-member jury chaired by Justice AP Shah, a former Chief Justice of the Madras and Delhi High Courts, and including Jayati Ghosh, economist and columnist, and Krishna Prasad, former Editor-in-Chief of Outlook, selected the winners from 84 entries.

Justice Shah presented the award to the two journalists. The award comprises a trophy, citation and a purse of ₹2 lakh.

The ACJ Award for Investigative Journalism was instituted in 2016.

The first recipient of award was Nilita Vachani for her story ‘Inside Job – The Woman who was Sacrificed to Nab Raj Rajaratnam’ published in Caravan in November 2015.