Cristiano Ronaldo Gets Golden Boot

IAS Prelims 2023

Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugese) has received a record fourth Golden Boot after topping Europe’s goal scoring charts for the 2014-15 season.

The Real Madrid star scored 48 goals in 35 La Liga appearances last term and becomes the first player in the awards’ illustrious 47-year history to win the accolade four times. He got this in 2007, 2010, 2013, and 2014.

The European Golden Shoe, formerly known as the European Golden Boot, is an association football award presented each season to the leading goalscorer in league matches from the top division of every European national league.

current affairsFrom its inception in the 1967–68 season the award, originally called Soulier d’Or, which translates from French as Golden Shoe or Boot, was given by L’Equipe magazine to the top goalscorer in all European leagues that season.

Cristiano Ronaldo is the only player to have won the European Golden Shoe four times, between 2008 and 2015, winning once with Manchester United and three times with Real Madrid. Barcelona’s Lionel Messi was the first player to win three Golden Shoes, between 2010 and 2013, and holds the all-time record with 50 goals scored in 2011-12.

Read – Yunis Khan is Pakistan’s Highest Run Scorer

Bayern Munich’s Gerd Müller was the first player to win the award twice, in 1969–70 and 1971–72, among eight two-time winners.

Only Ally McCoist (1991–92, 1992–93), Thierry Henry (2003–04, 2004–05), Lionel Messi (2011–12, 2012–13), and Cristiano Ronaldo (2013–14, 2014–15) won the award in consecutive years. Diego Forlán (Villarreal, Atlético Madrid), Mário Jardel (Porto, Sporting CP), and Cristiano Ronaldo are the only players to win the award with two different clubs, of whom Cristiano Ronaldo is the only player to do so in two different leagues.