Govt Setup Task Force on Innovation

Recognizing India’s potential to reach great heights in innovation, the Commerce & Industry Minister, Nirmala Sitharaman had directed the setting up of a Task Force which would take forward innovation in India.

The Team comprises of Government officials and experts from private organisations – Mr. Naushad Forbes (Co- Chairman , Forbes Marshall Group; President, CII), Dr. Anil Wali (MD, FITT, IIT Delhi), Mr. Gopichand Katragadda (CTO, TATA Sons), Mr. Kris Gopalakrishnan (Executive Vice Chairman, Infosys), Dr. Nikolai Dobberstein (Partner, A.T. Kearney Limited), Mr. Rajeev Srinivasan (Adjunct Faculty, Innovation IIM-B), Representative from the Department of Science and Technology and the Convenor of the Task Force Mr. Rajiv Aggarwal, Joint Secretary, DIPP.

The Task Force will assess India’s position as an innovative country and suggest measures to enhance the innovation eco-system in India and thus improve India’s ranking in the GII.