Haryana Assembly Ratifies GST Bill

IAS Prelims 2023

The Haryana Assembly unanimously ratified the Constitution Amendment Bill on Goods and Services Tax (GST). The bill was introduced by state Finance Minister Capt Abhimanyu and passed after a brief debate.

The Assemblies of Himachal Pradesh, Bihar, Jharkhand and Assam have already ratified the bill.

The Constitution (122nd Amendment) Bill, 2014 on GST was passed by Parliament recently and it needs to be ratified by at least 15 state legislatures before the President can notify the GST Council which will decide the new tax rate and other issues.

The government has set April 1, 2017 as target for rolling out GST, considered as the biggest tax reform.