Islamabad SAARC Summit Postponed

SAARC Summit which was going to be held in Islamabad in Pakistan, has been postponed as four countries out of eight member grouping deciding to boycott the meet.

Apart from India, Afghanistan, Bangladesh and Bhutan have pulled out of the Summit scheduled to be held in November, indirectly blaming Pakistan for creating an environment which is not conducive for the successful holding of the meet.

As per rules if any one head of state or government decides not to participate in summit, it has to be postponed. However a formal announcement can only be made by Nepal after internal consultation. Nepal is the current chair of SAARC.

India conveyed to current SAARC Chair Nepal that increased cross-border terrorist attacks in the region and growing interference in internal affairs of member states by one country created environment which is not conducive to successful holding of Summit.