Labh Singh Committee on University Sports

The Union Ministry of Sports and Youth Affairs has appointed a six-member committee to study existing sports tournaments in the Universities and critical gaps in such areas and make recommendations for developing a new National University Sports Tournament and Development Framework.

The committee, constituted early this month, is to be headed by Brig. Labh Singh, Olympian, and will comprise of Sagar Preet Hooda (Director, Sports – Ministry of Sports and Youth Affairs), Prof. Y. Kishor (Dean, Sports, Acharya Nagarjuna University), Dr. Anil Kalkal (Director, Sports, Delhi University), Dr. T.I. Manoj (Director, Student Services, Kerala Agriculture University), Prof. Iqtidar Mohammed Khan, Prof. R.K. Sharma and Kalpana Debnath as its members.

The committee, which will submit its report within the next six months, has also been asked to study the international best practices being adopted by the top Universities in the world, to consider the existing university games structure in the country including tournament cycles, talent identification and development, level of competition, coach availability, athlete and coach pathways and coaching methodology among other things.

The group has also been sought to have a close look and map the critical gaps in existing sports infrastructure, sports science and sports medicine support presently available across universities in the country in consultation with the Union Ministry of Human Resources Development, the University Grants Commission, National Sports Federations and other stake holders.