National Florence Nightingale Awards

The President of India Pranab Mukherjee conferred the Florence Nightingale Awards to 35 nurses from across the country on the occasion of International Nurses Day on 12 May.

Florence Nightingale was an English social reformer and statistician, and the founder of modern nursing.

She came to prominence while serving as a manager of nurses trained by her during the Crimean War, where she organised the tending to wounded soldiers.

She gave nursing a highly favourable reputation and became an icon of Victorian culture, especially in the persona of “The Lady with the Lamp” making rounds of wounded soldiers at night.

The Florence Nightingale awards are given to the outstanding nursing personnel employed in Central, State/UTs. Nurses working in Government, Voluntary Organizations, Mission institutions and the private institutions can apply with the due recommendation of concerned State Government.

The Florence Nightingale Awards carries Rs.50,000/- cash, a certificate, a citation certificate and a Medal.

Florence Nightingale Award Winners 2017 List

Ms. Lalpekmawii

Swapna Satish Joshi

Shakunthala D. B

Urmila Guleria,

P. Mohammed Salahudeen

Minaben A. Mistry

Saumini Prasannan

Eliamma Kora

Saumini Prasanan


N.R. Sindhu

R Sukumari

Ahamed Khafi


Arbina Sheikh

Rajkumar Rajpal

Current Affairs for IAS Exam