New Chairman of UPSC Takes Oath

IAS Prelims 2023

Prof. David R. Syiemlieh took the Oath of Office and Secrecy as Chairman, Union Public Service Commission, under clause (1) of Article 316 of the Constitution of India.

The oath was administered by Shri Vinay Mittal, the senior most Member of the Commission, at a function at the UPSC office.

Prof. Syiemlieh joined the Commission as Member on June 25, 2012 and was later on appointed to perform the duties of the post of Chairman, UPSC under Article 316 (1A) of the Constitution of India w.e.f. January 4, 2017.

Prior to joining UPSC, Prof. Syiemlieh was Vice Chancellor, Rajiv Gandhi University, Itanagar.

Prof. Syiemlieh has held many important positions in various policy making, academic and administrative bodies. He has authored/edited several books/publications and had been awarded Senior Fulbright Fellowship in the year 1999.