Novak Djokovic Wins Australian Open

IAS Prelims 2023

Novak Djokovic won Australian Open championship for the sixth time, equalling Roy Emerson’s record.

It was Djokovic’s fourth win over Murray in the final of these championships – and the most ordinary – and his 11th in their past 12 matches.

Djokovic now has 11 majors, and should overtake Rafael Nadal’s 14 within a year or so, then set about passing Roger Federer’s 17.

Novak Djokovic crushed Andy Murray 6-1, 7-5, 7-6(3) at Melbourne Park.

The defending champion was at his ruthless best under the lights at Rod Laver Arena, mauling Murray in the baseline duels and closing out the match in two hours and 53 minutes.

Murray succumbed to his fifth loss in five Australian Open finals, and fourth against the World No.1 Serbian, who claimed his 11th Grand Slam title to draw level with the totals of Rod Laver and Bjorn Borg.