Panneerselvam Sworn in as CM of Tamil Nadu

Former Tamil Nadu Finance Minister O Panneerselvam was sworn in as the new chief minister of Tamil Nadu after AIADMK chief J Jayalalithaa’s death.

He was administered the oath of office and secrecy by Governor Vidyasagar Rao.

All 31 members of the outgoing Ministry were sworn in along with him.

This is the third time that he is being sworn in as the chief minister of Tamil Nadu.

Panneerselvam has previously served as chief minister of Tamil Nadu from 2001 to 2002, when Jayalalithaa was barred from holding political office by the Supreme Court.

He held office as Chief Minister again from September 2014 to May 2015 when Jayalalithaa was convicted in the disproportionate assets case.

He was also given charge of the eight ministries she personally supervised and chaired cabinet meetings since Jayalalitha was hospitalised in September.

O. Panneerselvam was born on 14 January 1951 in Periyakulam. Panneerselvam entered politics in 1996.

He Contested Assembly elections for the first time in 2001 from Periyakulam and became the PWD minister.

He is currently elected from the constituency of Bodi-nayak-kanur.