Sania and Martina Wins WTA Finals

IAS Prelims 2023

Sania Mirza and Martina Hingis (Swiss) beat Spanish team of Garbine Muguruza and Carla Suarez Navarro to win the WTA finals in Singapore. It is their ninth women’s doubles title.

In addition to the WTA Finals, Mirza and Hingis have already won eight women’s doubles titles this year, including two Grand Slam titles at Wimbledon and the US Open, since joining forces in March at the BNP Paribas Open.

The pair had already bagged 2015 WTA- Year-End number one doubles ranking on Saturday.

They entered into the 10th final of the year at the Women’s Tennis Association’s (WTA) Finals after beating Chinese Taipei’s Chan Hao-Ching and Chan Yung-Jan in straight sets in Singapore.

Sania and Martina’s last loss was against the Taiwanese sisters in the semifinals at Cincinnati.

But since then the top seeded combination had beaten them three times and kept that pattern going this time as well.

The WTA Finals is an annual end-of-season tour championship, where the top-eight players or pairs of the year compete against each other in two round robin groups of red and white.

The championship is generally considered the fifth most prestigious event on the women’s tour after the four Grand Slam tournaments. It also has the largest prize money and ranking points after the Grand Slams.